Thursday, October 14, 2010
The Warren in Moore
You get drinks and food brought to you during the movie and the seats have butt warmers!!!!
Sent from my U.S. Cellular BlackBerry® smartphone
Wednesday, October 13, 2010
The Warren in Moore
You get drinks and food brought to you during the movie and the seats have butt warmers!!!!
Sent from my U.S. Cellular BlackBerry® smartphone
Friday, July 16, 2010
This is what..
To my lovely chauffeur for this morning, this is the best I could do on the bb.
Arrival Information Airport: New York, NY (LGA) Scheduled Time: 10 :50 AM, Jul 16 Estimated Time: 10 :50 AM, Jul 16 Terminal-Gate: B1
Sent from my U.S. Cellular BlackBerry® smartphone
Wednesday, July 14, 2010
The Phoenix is finished!!
I want to thank Jodi at Accent Tattoo in Ukiah! Jodi got to put up with my whining, crying, postponing, poking, and prodding. This odyssey started months ago and now we are done and he did an AWESOME job. He hugged me at the end of this session, I like to think it was because we entertained him so very much whenever we were there, but I am sure it was a "Thank God this bitch is done" sort of hug. The kind of hug you give a kidnapper who was nice to you, but was still a kidnapper.
People have asked me why I do this since I hate it so very much. The response is, I love the end result. Its art that means something to me and I get to carry it everywhere and show it to the world. I absolutely HATE being tattooed, but when you get something this beautiful from it, well, in the end its worth it to me.
The phoenix holds so much meaning for me and this phoenix in particular, will live on in my heart and now on my body forever. For those who don't know I will give you the reason for this phoenix.
His name is A'lar, he is a boss inside of Tempest Keep in the World of Warcraft. Now if the story stopped there I would expect to be called a super nerd for the rest of my life, but, it does not. Let me explain. In 2006 I was holding on to the last shreds of my marriage trying desperately to think of something that could save it. In the end I realized that I just didn't love him any more and nothing I could do was going to change that. At the same time I had been really wanting to get another tattoo and decided that I would get a phoenix. The idea of the life you had burning to so much ash only for you to reappear stronger and more beautiful from it, really hit the nail on the head for me. I started looking for phoenix art. Later that year I started playing World of Warcraft. In the following year, yep I was a slow leveller back then, I met so many wonderful people who helped me gain the strength I needed to light the fire to burn my old life to cinders and the strength to believe I could emerge from it more beautiful and stronger than ever. In June of 2007, I was finally ready to raid with the big boys, and a friend of mine asked me if I wanted to come with his guild to raid Karazhan. Off I went in all my face melting glory to raid for the first time. Being the fantastic, wonderful, generous person I am, I asked if anyone needed anything from the city before they summoned me to the dungeon. A player named Idaslapter asked me for some arcane powder. No problem, I said and I skipped of to get it before requesting the summon.
When I got to the dungeon, there was Idaslapter, a female human mage with awful hair. I traded with her and went into the dungeon. Little did I know that I had just met D. The man I was destined to be with. The future father of my children and my reason for getting up every day no matter how shitty I feel. Through typical MMO guild/clan drama I ended up in another guild a few months later and that guild was way more advanced than the one I came from. A week after joining them they took me to Tempest Keep. It was there that I saw A'lar for the first time and it was after I saw that you could get him as a mount (which I NEVER did see drop, freaking .0001% drop rate) that I decided that was the one for me. In the last 2 years so much had been going on that there never seemed to be time or money to get it done. It seemed appropriate to me that D gave me this as my Valentine's Day gift. I love them both so very much.
So there it is, there is my story about my awesome A'lar tattoo! Enjoy!
Forget Starbucks!!
I bought Great Value Quick Oats from Walmart. I also picked up some fresh bananas, a bag of Emerald Glazed Walnuts Original flavor, and an $0.85 bag of Sensible Foods Organic Dried Apples. One serving of oatmeal is 1/2 cup of oatmeal, a dash of salt and 1 cup of water. You then microwave it for 1.5 - 2 minutes. Well i decided to try to use the hot water from my office water cooler since the microwave is in another building here. Yesterday I used all the water the recipe called for and then placed my bowl inside a sealed gallon size zip top freezer bag for about 5 minutes or so. The bag acts like a steamer and will help the hot water cook the oatmeal removing the need for the microwave! Plus you can dry out the bag and use it to store all your add ins so that the pesky plague that is the sugar ant, cant get to it! The oatmeal was very soupy. Today I decided to use about 3/4 of a cup of hot water and it was just perfect! So I will list the recipe below with all the goodies I put in there.
1/2 cup Quick Oats
3/4 cup hot water
2 spoonfuls dark brown sugar
small handful of Glazed Walnuts
sprinkling of dried Apple Snacks
1/2 a banana
I would venture a guess that the whole thing comes in somewhere around 300 calories. The oatmeal sits at 150 and between the banana, walnuts, apples and sugar I figure we added about 150 calories to it. Here is the nutritional information for Starbucks:
Perfect Oatmeal (which is far less than what I am eating)
Tuesday, July 6, 2010
Its Been A Long Time Coming...
- Never let a boy determine a movie time.
- Saturday our roommate MK, his girlfriend M, D and I went to Santa Rosa because Superstar MK's super duper awesome iPhone locked up while trying to install the new update. He needed to take the phone all the way there so someone could fix it for him. We went to the mall and I got a huge bottle of Satsuma Body Wash at The Body Shop I smell so orangey and delicious, for like 5 minutes but still! I got a fantastic Vintage Grumpy 1937 t-shirt from The Disney Store for $6! So MK has a problem with one of his eyes and we were going to try to see a 3D movie since we were in Santa Rosa. So we went to the mall and the Apple store and then set about finding the movie theater so we could determine if he would be able to see it. So we find the theater and the boys go in and talk to the manager but never actually check the movie time themselves. They come back to the car saying that it was OK he should be able to see it and that the movie is at 7:55PM. So off we go in search of Johnny Garlic's in Windsor. We had a great meal! I had a Asian Chicken Crunch salad that was ENORMOUS and D and MK had the America Kobe beef 1/2 lb burgers that were juicy and out of this world. M had the Volcano Chicken which was great and not nearly as spicy as the name would imply apparently, though my delicate belly wasn't taking any chances. We arrive back at the theater at 7:45 to get our tickets, only to find out that the 3D version of Airbender started at 7:15 and the 7:55 was for the regular showing. D'OH! So since M really didn't want to see Airbender but was out voted 3 to 1, she got her revenge in the end because we saw her movie instead. That's right, I paid money to see Twilight. /sigh Although it wasn't as God awful as the last one and there were some sick Vamp on Vamp fight sequences which were really cool. I would like to petition the directors for more of that and less of Bella screaming in her sleep for the next two movies... PLEASE!
- Scooter remains a California dog.
- There have been so many discussions about how we were going to transport both the dogs to SXM. Scooter hates his crate and none of the airlines were allowing for 2 dogs older than like 8 weeks to be in the same crate together. Never mind that both dogs together only weigh like 30lbs and that the crate is big enough. After much consideration and discussion, D and I have decided that since Jeyenah can go on board with him in the cabin, then she will come to SXM with us and Scooter will remain in CA with Mike for at least the first 6 months. This allows us much more freedom when making the drive across the US (more on that in a moment) and will save D from having to go to NY for 3 days before he comes to SXM to get the dogs all their certificates and what not. Now he can just board the plane with Jeyenah as his carry on. I am going to miss Scooter and I hope he forgives us and knows Mommy and Daddy are coming back for him.
- The route to NY has changed AGAIN.
- Redwood Valley to Flagstaff (14 hour pull that would not have been possible with the doggies)
- Flagstaff to Moore OK - Where I will eat the face of a certain baby boy Asher!
- Moore OK to Memphis - Yes we WILL be going to Graceland. D must see all his cool stuff!
- Memphis to Roanoke VA - Just a logical place to stop 4.5 hours out of DC
- Washington DC - We will get to spend a whole day here! D is very excited.
- Philadelphia - Looks like only 2 days here and then we are off to NY.
- My exciting new doctor turned out to be the same as all the rest.
- Got my results and am less than satisfied that they continue to cling to the nearly decade old chart that shows thyroid function. Suffice it to say I was WELL in the zone of warranting treatment but according to them I am still borderline, aka, fat and lazy go have a salad and an aerobic class fatty. That's all I can say about that really.
- We have started trying to get pregnant!
- Do you really need details on this you cheeky monkeys? The possible due date if we struck gold this time is April 10th, regardless of what any Doctor tries to tell me. I feel so sorry for the doctor that gets me as their patient. I have done way too much research and am way to defensive about being a "big" mother that they are going to have their hands full. I will not allow a pushed birth unless there is real evidence of fetal distress and not some OB who wants to schedule my birth so he doesn't have to be on call. I want to labor AND deliver on my side for maximum spread of the pelvis. Heaven help anyone who gets in the way of my birth plan and that includes family members :)
Monday, June 21, 2010
Health Update & Some FA Lessons
I managed to get myself an appointment with a new OB/GYN on 6/08. He was great! I am always concerned about going to a new doctor since they always get on me about my weight. No matter what i weigh, its usually never right since they are all about their BMI bullshit. But I digress, this doctor was patient and kind and sort of reminded me of a Latino Kenny Rogers from the Gambler days. I spoke to him about my weight issue since taking Cymbalta and expressed my desire for children. I also let him know that I was a fibromyalgia patient and about the research linking fibromyalgia to hypothyroidism. I told him that the last time I had a thyroid check I was told I was borderline and that was 6 years ago, before they adjusted the level that determine hypothyroidism. Without a mention of my weight, a brief discussion about my age and a comfortable quick exam he decided it was time for another thyroid function test. He also told me if I wasn't pregnant in 6 months of trying he would get me on Clomid ASAP.
I went and got the function test on 06/09 and am awaiting a call this week to schedule a follow up appointment to go over the results and any medications I may need. I am actually pretty excited about this. I am hoping that many of the new symptoms and the worsening of the fatigue will be alleviated by the hormone supplements. I know that being treated for hypothyroidism isn't the weight loss magic bullet. I can say that I am sure I will hit my natural weight much more easily if all my systems are functioning properly and I am also sure that it will be that much easier to get pregnant. I promise to keep you updated on the results.
Recently, due to feeling just horrible about the way I look lately and trying to get to a place of acceptance about my body so that I can just focus on health at any size, I have been reading some "Fat Acceptance" or "Size Acceptance" blogs and websites to help get some perspective on myself and my perceived failures. I have added some of my favorite sites to "My Favorites" at the bottom of the blog. These women, mostly, are amazing. They encourage Health at Every Size and understand that being fat isn't the scapegoat for any illness you can possibly have. They are healthy happy people who live in and love their own skin. For that I say YAY!
I have only known one person in my life, who, while admittedly still trying to shed a few pounds, is so happy and secure in her own skin that she never once worries about whether she "should" wear something, she wears what makes her feel good. Amy Douglas was Beth Ditto lonnnnnnng before Beth hit the scene. She is a woman of curves and she lives the adage, "If you got it, flaunt it!". I admire her and her ability to be who she is and to not give a rat ass what anyone else thinks.
I also came across some very interesting numbers that goes into the category of "Things that make you say HMMM". At the website http://www.bmi-calculator.net/ I was able to get some really good information about the dreaded BMI, which I should note that at the time he won Mr. Universe, The Governator, was obese by BMI standards, but I also got some other information about body fat and lean muscle mass. So for the first time ever I am going to publicly disclose some previously very uncomfortable information about myself. OK well not "previously uncomfortable" because it's pretty fucking uncomfortable right now. But alas, I take a deep breath, 1,2,3 and here we go:
BMI Guideline
BMI Classification - Calculator
18.5 or less Underweight
18.5 to 24.99 Normal
25 to 29.99 Overweight
30 to 34.99 Obesity (Class 1)
35 to 39.99 Obesity (Class 2)
40 or greater Morbid Obesity
I am 5' 5" tall
I weigh 210 lbs
My BMI is 34.94 which puts me in Obese Class 1
To be healthy at my height according to the BMI, I must weigh NO MORE than 149lbs, 1 more pound makes me obese
OK so that means that for me to be healthy according to BMI, I should lose 60 pounds.
Lets look at Body Fat now. - Calculator
Height 5' 5"
Weight 210
Waist 40.5" (this is something that occurred with the medicine induced weight gain this year)
Wrist 7" (when I did Nutri System in 1992 they were amazed at the size of my frame even though celebrity diet doctors claim there is no such thing as "big boned" I carry little to no chub on my wrists)
Hips 48.75" (yep this is also from the meds although I am always a bit hippy, and a little bit country and a little bit rock n roll)
Forearm 10.5" (thank you Goodyear for my Popeye arms)
This gives me a body fat % of 32.44%
Now this site tells you how to figure your lean body mass which is basically your muscles, bones, fluids, blood, and organs. Here is the math
Weight x Body Fat % = Pounds of Fat
Pounds of Fat - Weight = Lean Muscle Mass
So I in my case
210 x .3244 = 68.12 lbs of fat
210 - 68.12 = 141.9
But wait, didn't BMI tell me that I needed to lose AT LEAST, 60 pounds to be healthy?
So what if I lost the 60lbs they wanted me to lose, 60lbs of fat. I would weigh 150lbs. I would have about 10 pounds of body fat on me, that's less than 10%. That means hair loss, skin issues and amenorrhea among other things. Women need at minimum 10 - 12% body fat to keep things functioning. If I want to be simply fit and "acceptable" in terms of body fat, I call 25% a really good number to shoot for. So lets do that math.
210 x .25 = 52.50
141.9 + 52.50 = 194.40
So for me that looks a heck of a lot closer and far more realistic a goal then losing 60lbs. Now I am looking at 20 and the chasm doesn't seem quite so wide.
I guess the point to all this is to listen to your body. Be proactive when it comes to the doctor and make sure that you are expressing yourself properly. They are your employee just like the garbageman and the mailman. Do not allow them to base all your illnesses on the fact that you are a person of size. In order to do that you have to also change your perspective on the people around you. Take a look at today's poll and answer it honestly. Did you judge someone by the way they look only? They could be a wonderful person and even if they aren't, they are a human being with feelings, wants, desires and dreams and are deserving of your love and respect and not your judgement.
Well that's all the rambling I can see fit to do on a Monday morning. I hope this helps someone see that if the doctors want to play a numbers game based on BMI you too can arm yourself with more important numbers and make them prove to you that its your extra pounds that are causing illness XYZ and not the other way around. Until next time, love yourself, judge not, and cheer on our sisters of size who live everyday out loud!
Thursday, June 17, 2010
Cyrus: The Year's Scariest Romantic Comedy
:)
Sunday, June 13, 2010
PLease Dont Get Mad at Me Vinny For Using Crisco But I Didn't Have Enough Butter, Chocolate Chocolate Chip Puffy Squishy Cookies.
Looking in the fridge however I realized I wasn't motivated enough for the 40 minute round trip into town for some butter so I went with the butter "Flavored" Crisco I had in the cabinet since some time around when God was a boy. In the back of my mind I could hear family friend V, of Sweet Lady Lulu's Bakery in NY, yelling at me about the use of *GASP* Crisco. I'm sorry Vinny but sometimes when you wanna just be fat and a little motivated, cabinet hunting is a lot easier than actually leaving the house. But here a link to a real Pastry Chef's website. So to the 3 of you who read me, go there, go NOW http://www.sweetladylulus.com/
I want to speak for a moment about tools when you are baking cookies. I have learned that you can improvise with a lot of kitchen items to make what you need but for me these are must haves:
Dishers: Like mini Ice Cream Scoops, every cookie is the same size so they all cook evenly!! Yay for that
Wednesday, June 9, 2010
Reasons vs Excuses, Learning to live within Reason
FNM and I would have arguments frequently about the difference between reasons and excuses. We handled collections, retention and service for a telecom company. When we would see a rise in delinquency my partner "Bubba" and I would get called in and the screaming about numbers would begin. Now I acted as a BA for part of my function there and Bubba and I ran most of the reporting for the departments. At the same time I was the collections system admin, the automations PM, the service process improvement point person, the WNP contact for collections, the SOX compliance author for collections and systems and a team manager for 5 Revenue Assurance representatives and 20 corporate and government account collectors. Needless to say, I was over worked and way underpaid but I wouldn't change that experience for the world.
FNM: "Why are we showing a 5% increase in 30 day debt"
Bubba: "There was a problem with invoicing this month and customers received their bills about 10 days late. That correlates to a slight increase in 30 day debt, we should see it recover in the next 30 days or so."
FNM: "I DON'T WANT TO HEAR YOUR EXCUSES!!"
This is where it would get sticky as I would always jump in and point out to him this is a reason for delinquency NOT, in fact, an excuse. Back and forth we would go over the semantics of the situation when its really quite simple.
Example of a reason:
Q: Why is the sky blue
A: Because Blue in sunlight collides with air molecules and our eyes see it as blue
Example of an excuse:
Q. How did you gain 15 lbs?
A. Because the American Fast Food Culture has caused me to overeat at places like McDonald's because it is cheaper than cooking at home.
Do you see the difference here? Sometimes, the best and often most painful answer isn't put forth to excuse something but rather to explain it.
So does this hold true in every aspect of our lives? Of course it does. People that NEVER, EVER lie are liars, because we all tell lies even if only to ourselves. Most of the time those lies take the form of excuses. We place blame on things in order to make them work for whatever situation we may find ourselves in. 35 years old and can't hold a job? The reason must be because someone told you a lie 30 years ago or you don't take well to authority. Right? Nope! Those are excuses, the reason is you are lazy and wish to be taken care of. And hey, listen, if you can find someone to take care of you and that will let you sit home while they work, more power to you. Really, I am jealous! But don't confuse the two.
Until we stop using things in our lives as excuses and start really being genuine and citing the underlying reasons for things, can we begin to move forward and grow.
Let me site some examples from my own life:
On why I don't exercise:
My doctors have told me that I need to exercise at night to help with my sleep issues and I don't have access to a facility that can allow me to exercise the way I need to in order to not be wracked with enhanced pain and fatigue for weeks.
- This is both an excuse and a reason. Yes, I was told I should exercise at night but they never said that's the only time, yet I can find a million reasons why I cant exercise at night if I wanted to. Each and every one of them in an EXCUSE. The reason here is that there isn't a facility that I can afford nearby that will give me the low impact exercise I need, a la resistance machine like Curves or swimming. I know from experience that any other sort of weight lifting or strength training will throw me into enhanced pain and fatigue for weeks.
On this last 30lb weight gain:
The prescription drug Cymbalta put approximately 5lbs per week on me. I discontinued use and the gaining stopped.
- This is a straight reason. Nothing changed in my level of activity or in my eating habits. I wasn't eating anymore than I normally did and was shocked that I was gaining weight. But lo and behold my ass, you will find that 30 there!
On why I cant make it to a party at the in laws:
I had a really bad night last night and didn't get much sleep at all. I was up with RLS and couldn't get comfortable. To make it worse my leg tingle thing is back and I think my herniated disc is flaring because I have a bigger than normal bulge at C5-C6 and I am in extra pain there.
- This is a straight excuse. I didn't tell a single lie here, yet its still an excuse. If we were going to Magic Mountain to ride X I would lie about my neck pain, say I felt great and get moving because it isn't something that I dread more than the laser gum surgery sans numbness that I have had twice now. My mother in law is a freaking lunatic who, if she were on fire, I wouldn't cross the street to piss on unless I happened to have been drinking diesel fuel for the last week and thought that my urine would make the fire stronger. Therefore I have a convenient bag of excuses to pull from so that I don't have to do something that is unpleasant to me.
SO WHATS THE POINT?
My point is that many of us with chronic pain issues whether they be CPS, Fibromyalgia, Lupus, neck and back injuries, etc., have a tendency to use our pain as an excuse to get out of doing things that we really just don't want to do. I could make a good case for disability due to the CPS/Fibro and the horrific, flaming knife from the bowels of hell piercing my vertebrae pain I get from my herniated disc. I could probably sit at home and play World of Warcraft all day and collect a check. It would be just that easy. But I don't, not because I think that collecting from the government is wrong or that people on disability are lazy, I don't because I know what that can mean to me and how deep into an introverted, online only existence I could end up living.
I know that I can hide. I have done it before. I have checked out of life for a few hours, days, weeks, even months at a time in the past. I get myself wrapped up in the lie, convincing myself that I am too tired, or in too much pain to actually live my life. Being in a place where I can control everything around me is comforting. Sometimes too much so. The allure is great to be alone and in control. But is that life???
No, using the excuses so many of us do, to live less of a life all the while convincing ourselves to believe that lie is not life at all. It is in a way, a living death. Being able to confront your pain, finding ways to manage it while still living life to the best of your ability is the true essence of life. Once you cast off the shackles that chronic pain can place on you, you will find that you are stronger than you thought you were. Life takes on a whole new meaning then, and suddenly you realize that you have been hiding from yourself and are forced to start laying out the reasons for your resistance to life, change, challenge and adventure. Only then will you see who you are and why you shy away from life. Only then can you start to build the road map that will lead you to a life of fulfilment and joy. For now, I continue to chose to live within reason.
Until next time dear readers (are there more than one of you?), stay strong and strive to LIVE.
PS For anyone else suffering from fibromyalgia please take a look at this very interesting study done a few years back and ask your doctor for a thyroid function exam. Hypothyroidism and Fibromyalgia
Friday, June 4, 2010
Thursday, June 3, 2010
Afflictions, Addictions, and a Baby Pickle??
But I digress (notice that this is video from a theme park attraction since it was the only place I could get the real song and not a school play. Apparently the copy write holder for the music made YouTube remove the sound from any movie clips featuring the actual song. Greedy fuckers). Today is the day that my pickle will be popping out her gherkin! I am so excited for her, and jealous as all hell. :)
Wednesday, June 2, 2010
Terrifying Statistics.....
|
www.28weeksofchange.blogspot.com
We're Back!
I am a loser, now calm down I don't need any soothing words about how I am not a loser and that I should think better of myself, I meant simply I lose things. When I lived in Las Vegas I swore that the casinos were going to start charging me for new player's cards. I would actually get 2 at a time under the adage, one to use and one to lose, but by the next time I was heading to that casino both cards would be gone. I have burned through no less than 7 Social Security cards in the last decade and lets not talk about all the "momentary" losses I experience every day. I honestly believe there are gremlins that live in my house and move all my stuff around when I am sleeping. I will be hunting for my keys only to find them in weird places like the bathroom or the laundry room. All I know is I didn't put them there and my husband and roommate know better to touch my stuff as they may upset the balance of my organized but chaotic world. So unless the dogs are in on it, I am calling Gremlin! Over the years since I have become an "adult" I have lost a wide variety of items of both great and little importance, but the one thing I ALWAYS had, that I ALWAYS could get my hands on in under a minute was my birth certificate.
For some reason that piece of paper was the one thing my brain always knew exactly how to locate. Probably because the thought of getting another one made me turn yellow with fear. Sitting in the Social Security office isn't a big deal, neither is DMV, but having to deal with NYS, well past experience told me that it was something I NEVER wanted to do. So I made sure I knew right where it was. It saw quite a bit of use as well. I travelled to the Caribbean every year from the time I was 11 to the time I was 18. Each trip, that piece of paper was my pass in and out. It was the same for all the trips I made there when I was older and even for the trip I made to Mexico in 2006. Birth Certificate and a driver's license was all I needed to get me in and out.
As many of you may know they changed the rules for Canada, Mexico and the Caribbean in 2008. You are now required to have a US Passport to get in and out of the country. So being the compulsive planner than I am and understanding that I live paycheck to paycheck at the moment, I planned the saving of the $100 I needed for the passport and I took the day after Memorial Day off to go get it. I went and got my picture taken last week and on that topic I will only say this, immigration will be very surprised that an old bulldog with a giant zit for a chin, is standing in front of them seeking passage into their country.
So yesterday I loaded D and I in the car and off we went to my local post office to apply for my passport. Now I should have known better than to go there simply because these are the same people who: question if I live at my address a full year after I have been receiving mail there, continually changed my husbands address to his fathers house even after SEVERAL written requests not to do so, and are just basically the "Keystone Kops" of mail service. So I get there and I am all ready to go and I hand her my cherished, ORIGINAL mind you, birth certificate. It was then the party really started.
Postal Worker: "Oh I cant accept this, its not a birth certificate."
M: "Um, what are you talking about? This is the only one I have ever had, I am nearly 40 I think I know what it is."
PW: "Well it says "Birth Registration" not "Birth Certificate" the State Department wont accept it"
M: "Listen, I have been travelling internationally with this thing for some 20+ years. They never had a problem with it before."
PW: "They wont accept this I am sorry"
M: "Have you even looked at it? It has an official raised seal from the state of NY and on the back in bold print it specifically says "PROOF OF US CITIZENSHIP FOR THE ISSUANCE OF A PASSPORT". Am I taking crazy pills or is that not what it says RIGHT THERE!!!"
PW: "Look I am just trying to prevent you from having an issue and they wont take this but let me ask my supervisor"
Super: "This is no good but when the branch manager is back from the store we will have her look at it and call you"
At this point he could see I was ready to fly over the counter and murder them both. Possibly even use one of them to murder the other in a "Hancock" sort of way. So I left and awaited the inevitable call that was to come. Sure enough a few hours later i got a call from the branch manager saying she called her contact at the State Department, yeah I buy that, so many one horse towns have a direct line to the feds these days, and they wont accept the document that is my one and only birth certificate, I now get to pay $52.25 to get a copy of the original I already have to send to the government. You have to love this country sometimes, even though they were screwing me six ways to Sunday they STILL figured out how to get more money out of me in the process.
So where does this leave me today? A little depressed and delaying my finish work on my Tattoo for a few more weeks while I plan to save what I need once again. But I think I will end on a high note and watch the clip below imagining myself to be Hancock and the PW and Branch Manager to be the inmates. If that doesn't work there is always Wedding Crashers, in fact I'm going to leave you a clip of both. Enjoy!
Thursday, May 27, 2010
A Q&A with Amy, Miss Douglas if you're nasty!!
Now that we have the mushy stuff out of the way please enjoy my recent Q&A with Amy Douglas:
1. What Time is it?
AD: IT’S TIME TO GET ILLLLLLLLLL
2. What are you wearing right now?
AD: Ripped up jeans, vintage Judas Priest tshirt, no shoes, no socks, Ray Ban Aviators. My feet are dirty. Aaaaaah
3. Five Words or less describe:
a. Your sound
AD: Soulful, Funky, Glammed Up, Versatile and Powerful
b. Your favorite music
AD: Led Zeppelin (counts as one....), Beatles, Coltrane, Elton, Queen
c. Your husband
AD: My soul-mate and rock.
d. Your favorite place
AD: London England at 3 AM
e. Yourself
AD: Working my butt off lately!
f. Your interviewer
AD: Is a truly kick-ass woman! (edit* Aw shucks!)
4. I’ve noticed to have been doing a lot of collaborative work lately. Is this a permanent part of the Amy D Experience or will you be focusing in on a specific project soon?
AD: I think there’s going to remain a healthy dose of both, and I really do love to collaborate, so it’s been a blessing. In addition to following up the 92 Eternal Project with it’s second single and doing more collaborations in the pipe with some very special artists from the UK, I have two original projects in the works, one called Discokaina (stay tuned) and one called BAMela. Discokaina is Latin Degenerately Filthy Disco Rock. BAMela is for all intents and purposes a modern funk supergroup with the amazing Freekbass (www.freekbass.com) and Tobe Donohue aka Tobotius who is the producer/engineer of Bootzilla Productions, which is Bootsy Collins’s studio and label. I think you’re gonna love both of these for different reasons. I’m also, beginning to write songs for my first solo album, which....is gonna hearken back to my roots. A piano, a voice.
5. Who was our Junior High Chorus Teacher? Your thoughts on that one should be orgasmic!
AD: She was Ms. Alt I think, something with an A? Am I right about that? She was blonde. And she was chirpy. Vanilla, and emotionally unstable like all chorus teachers are. :) Oh well. She did her best. Poor thing. She did not like me, I remember.
6. In your formative years, who did you look at as your most highly regarded musical icon? (You can tell the truth, it’s me, I know)
AD: LOL! You are certainly one of my most highly regarded musical peers!!! If only because you out of all our group were the only one listening to amazing music! Well, Nikki too, she loved The Doors and Public Enemy I remember, but you were a devoted across the board listener. You CARED about music. As for me, in my formative years my most highly regarded hero/heroes were Led Zeppelin, Donna Summer, The Beatles, Queen, Stevie Wonder and Elton John. But the funny thing is, when you collaborate in other genres, such as the way I’m working as of late, a rush of influences you never even thought might have existed in your mind suddenly comes bubbling to the surface.
7. You latest projects have that funky ethereal sound to them, but they are also screaming “Hot Tub Time Machine me back to 54!!”. You started as a Rock diva, shifting to a more Jazz-centric (I think I just made up a word right there) feel once you were at college. When did you decide to change gears in your musical career?
AD: Well the jazz thing in college was simple, there was no degree being offered in rock diva! LOL! I had really started getting jazz focused while we were still in high school together. Jazz was also a great part of the early years growing up because both my Dad and Grandparents loved jazz! So they had great recording (all of which I subsequently stole!) I still love jazz, and jazz definitely made me the MUSICIAN I am today. Having the language of that to use on sessions and in many situations has served me very well. As for the rest, it’s funny. I started doing rock and funk again after I left school, and now...here I am singing for some of the premier talents in the world of electro and alternative dance music, but I still love rock music deep in my core, and I would like to get BACK to doing more rock music, and combine it with this new dance music thing I’m doing. Ironically dance music, which I never really imagined myself doing, provides a freedom with writing music and singing that a lot of other genres, don’t allow for, so if anything it just became a way to do whatever I wanted. When you label yourself by any other genre, people don’t like to loosen their perceptions on what or who you are, and what you’re capable of. I think all modern recent music has dance flourishes, and DJ culture has so infiltrated mainstream music, that the genre expanded. Expansion is ultimately a very good thing when you really want to be able to stretch your wings and do whatever comes into your mind at any given moment. Dance music allows me to use rock chops, jazz chops, and all in between. I’m not sure I decided to willfully change directions, so much as these new avenues suddenly found me and I’ve been really enjoying this side of the funky music building. (*edit Amy was a staple at the Blue Note in Manhattan and sang with such legends as George Clinton and Illinois Jacquet)
8. What is the craziest thing you have eaten recently?
AD: Sea Cucumber! Texture was...hard to get around, but it wasn’t too bad!
9. The music is playing you off and you only have 5 seconds before the 2011 Grammy Awards go to commercial, what do you yell out?
AD: JIMMY PAGE, PLEASE CALL ME!
10. What is your strongest memory?
AD: My old rock band AETHOS opening up for the 420 Funk Mob in Ithaca New York. 420 are essentially the PFUNK All Stars performing predominantly the Funkadelic catalog as opposed to the Parliament one, and George Clinton himself was on board for the night. I got called up to sing Red Hot Mama and wound up staying onstage for most of the duration of the night. Before hitting the stage, I was asked upon the tour bus, and standing there soon as I walked on the bus was George. When he hit the stage that night and we got to sing together, it was a magic I’ll never forget.
11. If you woke up tomorrow with my level of musical ability, what new career would you embark on and why?
AD: I think I’d open the worlds most amazing vintage clothing store, be a stylist or maybe do something culinary. I’m actually working on a cocktail book, of original cocktails I’ve created!
12. This is less of a question and more of a “shout out” box for you. Who do you want to give props to?
AD: I wanna give props to YOU. You for moving into a life that completely suits you, that puts you at ease, and I’m thrilled that you are so happy. (edit* Well shit I may have gotten a little teary and back at ya sister!)
Well there you have it folks a thrilling 10 minutes with one of the most talented people I have ever had the pleasure of being up close with. She is also the same person who made me learn every word of Edge of Seventeen for a show at Don Hill's, but we wont talk about that!!!
BOOBIES!!
Now take a listen to "Still Believe" from Supra1 (download the whole 8 track EP here.)
Ok here's another; this track is from 92 Eternal and is titled "The Feeling" you can purchase the EP here
Now what do all these tracks have in common? Is it the funky club beat or the seemingly super-natural pull that makes you feel like someone hooked your spine through your belly button and is compelling you to dance? Well maybe, but what resonates for me is the powerful voice of the singer on each of these tracks. That would be the uber powerful voice of Amy Douglas.
I have known Amy since we were 11 years old. We spent our teen years singing together in chorus. She up in the soprano tier and me hanging with the boys, as usual, on the tenor rise. It was always tons of fun and Amy has always been destined for stardom. I could spend an hour talking about all the times Amy and I ended up singing Meatloaf's "Paradise by the Dashboard Light" at this shitty bar across the street from my job after waaaay too many Jaeger shots. Or I could pontificate on the time Amy dragged me nearly kicking and screaming into my only public performance at Don Hill's. Honestly, no one talks about Amy like, well, Amy. She is a pro a promotion and knows how to work her stuff to the max. She is a veteran of the NY music scene and a born professional. In her own words she is a "Diva vocalist. Bulldog Lover. Jimmy Page worshipper. And a big nerd."
You can see Amy with her band Koko Dozo below. Amy and Polarity 1 make up this dynamic duo that pump out tunes that make you feel like someone tucked you inside a capsule and blasted you off to Saturn only to crash land on some unknown planet in front of their hottest dance club. If you heard vocals and a beats like these pumping out the door, I dont care if the population of that planet is comprised of one eyed, one horned, flying purple people eaters, you'd still risk it and head inside to get down!
Maybe one day I will interview Miss Amy so she can finally acknowledge who her REAL influence was. So without further adieu, here is Koko Dozo performing their song "Boomchi" at Tubway in NYC. Boomchi, btw, was featured on Showtime series The L Word.



